Johnston County Coalition

The Johnston County Coalition is an ecumenical church build in Johnston County.

The 2018 Johnston County Build will take place in Clayton. 

Construction Site Address: 417 East Hinton Street, Clayton, NC. Park at Mt. Vernon Christian Church, 300 North Lombard Street. 

Key Dates:
Wall Build - 
 Saturday, January 6  • 8:15 a.m. • Parking Lot of Mt. Vernon Christian Church, 300 North Lombard Street Clayton
Wall-Raising Ceremony - Saturday, January 6 • 2 p.m. • First Baptist Clayton, 411 N. Fayetteville Street, Clayton
Clergy and staff work mornings: Thursday, February 1 • 8:15 - 11:30 a.m. • Construction site
Dedication Ceremony: TBD

Construction Schedule

  • Day 1: Wall Building - Saturday, January 6 

  • Week 1, Framing - Thursday, January 11
    Friday, January 12
    Saturday, January 13

  • Week 2, Doors/Windows/Siding - Thursday, January 18
    Friday, January 19
    Saturday, January 20

  • Week 3, Siding/Frame/Boxes - Thursday, January 25
    Friday, January 26
    Saturday, January 27
  • Week 4, Boxes/Frame punch/siding - Thursday, February 1
    Friday, February 2
    Saturday, February 3
  • Week 5, Siding - Thursday, February 8
    Friday, February 9
    Saturday, February 10

  • Week 6, Siding - Thursday, February 15
    Friday, February 16
    Saturday, February 17

  • Week 7, Paint/interior trim - Thursday, February 22
    Friday, February 23
    Saturday, February 24

  • Week 8, Interior trim - Thursday, March 1
    Friday, March 2
    Saturday, March 13

  • Week 9, Exterior trim & landscaping - Thursday, March 8
    Friday, March 9
    Saturday, March 10

Reserve your work days early. If spots are not filled, they are released for other volunteers 3 weeks prior to the work day to maintain the construction schedule. To reserve work days, contact Emmy Oakley at emily.oakley@habitatwake.org.

Saturday Lunch: Your congregation may be assigned one Saturday during the build to provide lunch for the volunteers, house leaders and Americorps staff (30 lunches).

For materials to help recruit volunteers in your congregation, click here.