Meet Us Monday: Paige Doster-Grimes, Development Coordinator

May 22, 2017

Paige Doster-Grimes, Development Coordinator

Home town: Goffstown, New Hampshire
Current town: Raleigh, North Carolina
When did you start working at Habitat Wake? October 2016

What is your favorite thing about working for Habitat? I love attending home dedications and seeing the joy on our homeowners' faces as they realize their dream of affordable homeownership. It is so much fun to celebrate the milestone with them and share in the moment as they begin a whole new chapter. Purchasing a home was a goal my husband and I shared, too, and closing on our own house this past year is one of my proudest achievements. I am delighted that I play a role in helping hardworking neighbors achieve their homeownership goals.

What does your typical work day look like? I'm responsible for managing our donation database and making sure all philanthropic gifts we receive are used for their intended purpose. I also do lots of data analysis (so many Excel spreadsheets!) to help make sure we're raising money as effectively as possible to fund our mission. I'm not always behind the computer, though, so you might see me at one of our fundraising events or home dedications, too!

What do you do in your spare time? Yoga and swimming are my favorite ways to stay active, and when the pollen count is in my favor I love a nice hike. I participate in Toastmasters and I'm an avid reader, so I spend a lot of time at the library drafting my next speech or searching for my new favorite book. Cooking is another favorite pastime, as is eating good food! Lately I've been whipping up a lot of Indian cuisine which usually tastes great and always smells amazing.

I'm also very lucky to have my immediate family close by, so you can often find me exploring Raleigh's many museums with my Mom, snuggling with my baby twin nephews, or being exhausted by (I mean, having a blast playing with) my 6-year-old niece.

Do you have any pets or children? My husband and I have one very spoiled child - an adopted miniature goldendoodle named Maverick. Mav combines the looks of a muppet with the vigor of the Energizer bunny. He has boundless enthusiasm for peanut butter, squirrels, and meeting new people. You might fall head over heels with this golden-locked dude if you meet him... because he will jump on you repeatedly and just might knock you over! He is a very sweet, if not excitable, pup.

Favorite sport (to play or to watch, or both): I hardly play these days, but my husband and I are big tennis fans. Federer is our favorite (18!), but I've got a soft spot for Wawrinka. After seeing Alexander Zverev play at the Citi Open in Washington, DC a few years ago, I think he could make it to the top and I enjoy watching him do well.

What are three items on your bucket list?
The practical: Pay off our mortgage! It might sound dull to some, but the prospect of owning our home outright and not owing anyone a dime is so liberating.

The fun: Go to the US Open!

The adventurous: Travel to Japan! Also, while I'm there, eat my weight in mochi.

Favorite piece you’ve seen or purchased in the ReStore? I'm always scouring the framed artwork in the ReStore. For less than $10 I picked up these two bright, original watercolors that make me smile whenever I pass them.