Meet Us Monday: Johnny Glover, Faith Relations Coordinator

Ilyasah N. Shabazz | June 4, 2017

Johnny Glover, Faith Relations Coordinator

Hometown: I was born in the Triangle and have lived in Raleigh for 67 years, mostly in the North Raleigh area. I attended Enloe High School the first year it was opened.

When did you start working at Habitat Wake?: I have been a volunteer working with Rick Beech helping to coordinate Baptist Build for the past four years. I started working as a part-time employee last year after I retired from the Boy Scouts of America, where I worked for almost 40 years.

What is your favorite thing about working for Habitat?: Without a doubt the relationships you develop with volunteers. Working side by side with people who have a common goal -- to help others. Habitat brings out the best in people.

What does your typical work day look like?: Being part-time, I work only about 15 to 20 hours per week. My job is to build a coalition of churches in East Wake, Garner and soon Johnston and Franklin Counties. We have not built houses in several years in each of these areas. I start by working with the senior pastor and usually the Missions committee. I find the churches to be very receptive. Each church coalition member makes a financial and volunteer commitment to support Habitat's mission.

What do you do in your spare time?: I am very active in my church (Greystone Baptist) and I have two grandsons, ages 7 and 5, and a 3-months-old granddaughter. My grandkids live about one mile away so I am very involved in their lives every day, which is a great blessing. Until school ends in June, I am keeping my granddaughter two days a week while my daughter goes back to teaching.

My church work is really concentrated right now in 2 areas. I cook at our Wednesday night suppers (about 80 people) and I am trying to put together a Disaster Relief Team. We are currently going to the Lumberton area about every 6 weeks and working with the Baptist Men.

Do you have any pets or children?: Both my wife and I love dogs. We currently have 2 labs we rescued about 3 years ago. What was to be outside dogs turned into inside dogs. ( They have their own “room” in our house. Before that we had a lab that lived over 17 years. My wife has been to Utah and visited “Best Friends” an animal rescue facility which has all kinds of animals. I have 1 daughter (Kristi) who has been the love of my life for 31 years.

What are three items on your bucket list?: As you get older your wants and desires really change. My 3 are: Helping my Grandkids grow to be caring and loving young men and women, create a program at church that outlast my life, and don’t be satisfied with what you have done so far.

Dream vacation: Meeting my wife Julia 20 years ago changed my life in many ways but particularly in travel. She is in the Travel Business and has traveled all over the world. For the last 18 years she has taken me to Australia to climb the Sidney bridge, Hawaii to visit Pearl Harbor, go dog sledding in Alaska, participate in a photo animal Safari in Africa as well as many places in the USA. For a local boy born here and working for a non-profit all my life, it is more than I deserve or could ever imagine.

Favorite place to take out-of- town guests in the Triangle: Big Ed’s in downtown Raleigh. It is a restaurant from the old days. Their hot BBQ chicken is the best. For those who love culture, try the NC Museum. For baseball lovers, don’t miss the Durham Bulls athletic park.

Favorite memory with Habitat Wake: Seeing Marvin Connelly (Habitat board member and Baptist Build coordinator) transform from a professional school administrator to a dynamic preacher at the Baptist Build worship service.